Teenage bedwetting – there’s nothing to be ashamed of

Today’s blog post has been written by Connor, a teenage bedwetter, who wants to share his story to help break down the stigma surrounding the problem and let other young people know they’re not alone. You can read more of Connor’s story and the experiences of other young people on the teenage pages of ERIC’s website.

I have been struggling with bedwetting for pretty much all of my life, and although thankfully things are improving now, there have been many challenges and difficult times.

When I was a young kid, I really didn’t see that it was anything out of the ordinary – I suppose I just assumed that everyone wet the bed, but obviously as I got older I realised that wasn’t the case and for a while I was very angry about still wetting the bed.

For much of my childhood I wore nappies to bed which may seem a trivial thing to get upset about, but I became very worried that somehow all my friends would know, even though there was no way they could find out. By the time I started at high school I was getting feeling very low about it all – I was convinced that I was the only teenager in the world still wetting the bed.

When I stopped wearing nappies it was good in the longer term, but hard to get into a new routine. Dealing with a wet bed is no fun, and I had many disrupted nights. It was especially worse on school nights of course – if I woke up wet in the middle of the night, there was no way I could go back to sleep without getting up and changing, which meant I had less sleep, but if I slept through until morning, it was always a rush to get changed and clean in time.

One of the biggest issues is the stigma surrounding bedwetting, which doesn’t exist with other conditions – for example I knew people at school with things like asthma and diabetes and they quite happily talked about it. However I would never even consider talking about bedwetting, and up until very recently only people within my family knew. Getting rid of this sort of stigma would be such a huge improvement – if it was easier to talk about it and know that people wouldn’t make any sort of fuss then I wouldn’t have missed out on so many things, sleepovers, school trips etc.

However I think it is important to try and see some of the positive sides. I have always had a lot of support from my parents and my younger brother.  Also recently I was staying with a friend for a few days and had the courage for the first time to tell him about my problem and that I would be wearing incontinence pants as a safeguard whilst staying there – I was very relieved that he was not disgusted in any way and was happy that I had told him.

I just want to let others suffering bedwetting that is not something to be ashamed of, and although it might take a lot of time and patience, things will definitely get better.

 Connor, 16

 

8 thoughts on “Teenage bedwetting – there’s nothing to be ashamed of

  1. Anonymous March 8, 2013 / 9:28 pm

    Thanks for sharing your story

    Like

  2. Anonymous May 26, 2013 / 9:37 pm

    i wet the bed too..and i am also 16 (girl)! I have such a low selfesteem and shame…i try to tell myself “it will get better” .. but it doesn’t seem to sink in! My mom is such a meanie..! She makes fun of me and makes me feel ashamed of myself! i hate that she doesn’t want to understanf WHY it happens..and that i am NOT the only one! it irritates me that in articles it is written that parents must be supporting and kind and tell their children that there is nothing to be ashamed of and that it wil be better! But she makes me hate myself more! i cry everytime i wet the bed because i don’t know how i am supposed to stop it! some night i don’t ( thankfully, many weeks) but then all of sudden it happens that night, when i DON’T want it to happen! And worst of all ..the thought of doing it when your married or in a relationship! How the hell am I supposed to get thtough with that? Or will it stop before that time? I am so ashamed…….i am sometimes scared when i sleep over at me friends house! I don’t know how to tell them or will they help me get through it….we are like sisters..but still i feel ashamed and scared! help…i don’t want to live like this! email me at : nahsam1@hotmail.com

    Like

    • Anonymous August 12, 2014 / 5:29 pm

      Deep sleep bed wetting could be due to hypoglycemia and this could be adrenal fatigue. Some key symptoms include bed wetting after 3 to 4 hours after dinner or at 3 pm. Other symptoms include difficulty in getting up at in the morning and generally tired through out the day.

      Hope this helps some one.

      Regards

      Like

  3. Anonymous October 17, 2013 / 8:51 am

    I was a bedwetter until partway through my Freshman year in high school. I was crazy ashamed and felt like the biggest loser in the world. I’m a Junior now and have only bedwet once since then after drinking a large amount of soda before bed. It feels amazing to be free of the problem. To those of you who have it. It’s not that big of a deal. What are people going to do? Laugh at you? Say it’s a medical condition and they’ll feel bad. plus if the are mean they arent worth it. I didn’t realize this till after i got over bedwetting and it caused me grief every time I had To sneak my goodnite into the bathroom or cringe whoever it made a sound.

    Like

  4. Doug January 14, 2014 / 9:28 pm

    There is absolutely no reason to be ashamed. I struggled my teenage years with all the same fears and anxieties any teen bed wetter feels. Yes it was a transition when entering high school I was allowed to stop wearing diapers at night and while I felt relieved the clean up issue became huge. Not to magnify the situation but often I would cause more of a flood than just a wet bed. Anyway not to discourage but there are some adults like myself that never kick the habit. I might suggest a through eurodynamic test be done on any teenager that wets at night. The test is very evasive, not fun at all, but in my case revealed that for unknown reasons I have a neurogenic bladder which basically means there is nothing short of surgery that could have ever helped my wetting. I do not take surgical steps lightly especially since there is a chance the surgery would not correct the problem. Now as an adult I have chosen to use diapers again, which basically makes my nights much more peaceful. Knowing what is really going on made the protection decision much easier. I no longer feel “bad” about it. Acceptance is the best medicine.

    Like

Leave a comment